Plus   Neg

Obama Proclaims Five New Monuments

President Barack Obama signed off on five new monuments Monday that will be added in Delaware, Maryland, New Mexico, Ohio and Washington.

"From the treasured landscapes of northern New Mexico and Washington, to the historic sites in Delaware, to the sites that show our nation's path from Civil War to civil rights, these monuments help tell the rich and complex story of our nation's history and natural beauty," new Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell said.

Jewell continued to say the monuments are great additions to the economy that will increase job opportunities and attract tourism.

Charles Young Buffalo Soldiers National Monument in Ohio is named after former U.S. Army officer Col. Charles Young. He was the first African American to achieve the rank of Colonel.

First State National Monument in Delaware remembers the state as the first to ratify the Constitution.

Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Monument in Maryland honors the famous Underground Railroad Conductor who helped enslaved people reach freedom.

Río Grande del Norte National Monument in New Mexico invites others to enjoy the incredible landscapes and recreational opportunities in the area located northwest of Taos.

San Juan Islands National Monument in Washington allows visitors to observe the wildlife and all different species the chain of 450 islands is home to.

Obama signed the proclamations under the Antiquities Act, which is designed to promote the nation's history and natural heritage, the White House reports. The Act was signed into law by Theodore Roosevelt on June 8, 1906.

by RTTNews Staff Writer

For comments and feedback: editorial@rttnews.com

Business News

Follow RTT