Plus   Neg

Co-presidents Of Sony Pictures Television Leaving


Zack Van Amburg and Jamie Erlicht, the longtime co-presidents of Sony Pictures Television, are leaving the independent studio when their current contracts expire on August 31.

The surprise new was announced Thursday by Sony Pictures Entertainment CEO Tony Vinciquerra through an internal memo sent to the staff, reports said. He did not name their successor.

He also did not elaborate on what the top executives will do next, except saying they are leaving "to begin a new chapter in their extraordinary careers".

Vinciquerra, who was appointed to the post last month, recalled that Zack and Jamie have been instrumental in the growth of Sony Pictures Television over the last several years — particularly over the last year as they took on a greater leadership role alongside Keith Le Goy, President of Distribution; Amy Carney, President, Advertiser Sales, Strategy & Research; and Andy Kaplan, President of Worldwide Networks.

Vinciquerra made it clear that until a replacement is named for Zack and Jamie, he will be working closely with the existing leadership team.

Van Amburg, who had been at Sony for 20 years, and Erlicht, who spent 15 years with Sony, are departing at a time business for an independent studio like Sony TV has become increasingly challenging in an era of dwindling viewership.

They are exiting a year after they were promoted with additional responsibilities of worldwide television following the retirement of Sony Pictures TV chairman Steve Mosko.

Van Amburg and Erlicht have spearheaded a decade of rapid growth of Sony TV's original series unit, with the SPT slate of original primetime shows more than tripling and expanding into cable and streaming.

by RTTNews Staff Writer

For comments and feedback: editorial@rttnews.com

Entertainment News

More Entertainment Top Stories

1 Articles
Follow RTT