Plus   Neg

Trump Identifies 22 Major Drug Producing Or Transit Nations


President Donald Trump has identified 22 countries, including India, Pakistan, and Mexico, as major illicit drug transit and/or producing countries.

Large scale smuggling of drugs from Mexico to the United States was one of the main reasons Trump cited for a proposal to construct a wall along the US-Mexico border.

In addition to the two south Asian countries and the Latin American neighbor, Afghanistan, The Bahamas, Belize, Bolivia, Burma, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Laos, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, and Venezuela have also been named in the President's blacklist.

Trump also designated Bolivia and Venezuela as countries that have failed demonstrably during the previous 12 months to adhere to their obligations under international counter-narcotics agreements.

Colombia was spared from designation despite extraordinary growth of coca cultivation and cocaine production over the past 3 years, including record cultivation during the last 12 months.

The White House explained that Colombia was not designated because the police and armed forces of that country are close law enforcement and security partners of the United States, and that they are improving interdiction efforts, and have also restarted some eradication.

Trump clarified that a country's presence on the blacklist under the Foreign Relations Authorization Act (FRAA) is not necessarily a reflection of its government's counter-narcotics efforts or level of cooperation with the United States, but due to a "combination of geographic, commercial, and economic factors that allow drugs to transit or be produced, even if a government has carried out the most assiduous narcotics control law enforcement measures".

by RTTNews Staff Writer

For comments and feedback: editorial@rttnews.com

Business News

Follow RTT