Coinbase Extends Crypto-to-Crypto Trading Services To 50 More Countries

coinbaseholds april03 15may19

US cryptocurrency exchange Coinbase expanded its crypto-to-crypto trading service to 50 more countries. Direct trading between cryptos is currently becoming more popular than fiat-to-crypto trading.

The 50 new countries include Bahrain, Brazil, South Africa, Taiwan, Bahamas, Costa Rica, Ghana, Kenya, Kuwait, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Mauritius, Mongolia, Oman, Turkey, Uganda and Uruguay.

With this, Coinbase would be now serving customers in 103 countries, compared to 32 countries a year ago.

It was in mid-April that the exchange extended its crypto-to-crypto trading service to 11 more countries across Latin America and Southeast Asia making a total of 53 countries. The added countries included Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Mexico, New Zealand, the Philippines, Peru, and South Korea.

Additionally, the exchange extended crypto trading support for stablecoin USD Coin (USDC) to customers in 85 countries on Coinbase and Coinbase Pro.

In October last year, Coinbase had added support for USDC, the dollar-pegged stablecoin issued by Circle, making it the first stablecoin to trade on the platform. Stablecoins like USDC are more advantages than cash as it is nearly immune to inflation and volatility.

Adding USDC is an important step towards a more open financial system. It is beneficial to anyone who trades cryptos and also has the potential to materially improve the lives of people in countries where inflation is eroding wealth.

For comments and feedback contact: editorial@rttnews.com

Business News

Follow RTT