Plus   Neg

Marilyn Manson Announces New Album 'We Are Chaos,' Drops Video For Title Track

marilyn manson 072016 lt

Marilyn Manson announced on Wednesday (July 29) that his 11th studio album, We Are Chaos, will be out on September 11th via Loma Vista Recordings.

Manson co-produced the 10-track LP with Grammy Award winner Shooter Jennings. The cover of the record features one of Manson's self-portraits.

Along with the announcement, Manson released the record's lead single and title track and an accompanying music video directed, shot and edited by Matt Mahurin.

The visual features several eerie scenes. "We are sick, f---ed up and complicated / We are chaos, we can't be cured," Manson is seen singing in the chorus.

"When I listen to We Are Chaos now, it seems like just yesterday or as if the world repeated itself, as it always does, making the title track and the stories seem as if we wrote them today," Manson said in a press release. "This was recorded to its completion without anyone hearing it until it was finished. There is most definitely a side A and side B in the traditional sense. But just like an LP, it is a flat circle and it's up to the listener to put the last piece of the puzzle into the picture of songs."

He added, "This concept album is the mirror Shooter and I built for the listener — it's the one we won't stare into. There are so many rooms, closets, safes and drawers. But in the soul or your museum of memories, the worst are always the mirrors. Shards and slivers of ghosts haunted my hands when I wrote most of these lyrics. Making this record, I had to think to myself: 'Tame your crazy, stitch your suit. And try to pretend that you are not an animal,' but I knew that mankind is the worst of them all. Making mercy is like making murder. Tears are the human body's largest export."

Manson's previous record was Heaven Upside Down in 2017.

We Are Chaos Tracklisting:

1. "Red Black And Blue"
2. "We Are Chaos"
3. "Don't Chase The Dead"
4. "Paint You With My Love"
5. "Half-Way & One Step Forward"
6. "Infinite Darkness"
7. "Perfume"
8. "Keep My Head Together"
9. "Solve Coagula"
10. "Broken Needle"

For comments and feedback contact: editorial@rttnews.com

Entertainment News

Follow RTT