Plus   Neg

Beastie Boys' 1995 Punk EP 'Aglio E Olio' Debuts On Streaming Services

beastie boys 062116 lt

The Beastie Boys have debuted their eight-track hardcore punk EP Agilo E Olio on streaming services.

The EP, which runs for just 11 minutes, was recorded in 1995. It was originally released on CD and 12" vinyl record by Grand Royal.

The version available on streaming services does not contain the two bonus tracks - "Soba Violence" and a cover of The Doors' "Light My Fire" - that were part of the physical release.

Amery "AWOL" Smith, who was a drummer with Suicidal Tendencies, is featured on the record alongside Mike D, Ad-Rock and the late MCA.

Mike D said in an interview in 1999 that the EP came about when they recorded too many punk and hardcore songs to fit naturally on Hello Nasty and decided to instead compile them for an EP.

The band named the record Aglio E Olio, which means "garlic and oil" in Italian, to let fans know that it was a simple, no-frills EP.

The band is scheduled to release the 20-song Beastie Boys Music on October 23. It follows the Spike Jonze-helmed Beastie Boys Story: A Live Documentary, which was released earlier this year on Apple TV.

Aglio E Olio EP Tracklist:

01. "Brand New"
02. "Deal With It"
03. "Believe Me"
04. "Nervous Assistant"
05. "Square Wave In Unison"
06. "You Catch a Bad One"
07. "I Can't Think Straight"
08. "I Want Some"

For comments and feedback contact: editorial@rttnews.com

Entertainment News

Follow RTT