Wilco Announce New Double Album 'Cruel Country,' Share Lead Single

wilco falling 042922 lt

Indie rock band Wilco have announced that they are releasing a country double album, called Cruel Country.

They also shared the lead single - "Falling Apart (Right Now)" - from the 2-disc collection.

The album, Wilco's 12th overall, will be released on May 27 via dBpm Records.

Most of the songs on the 21-track record are composed of live takes recorded at the Loft in Chicago.

"There have been elements of country music in everything we've ever done," Wilco singer/guitarist Jeff Tweedy said in a statement announcing the upcoming album. "We've never been particularly comfortable with accepting that definition, the idea that I was making country music."

"But now, having been around the block a few times, we're finding it exhilarating to free ourselves within the form, and embrace the simple limitation of calling the music we're making country," he added.

Wilco, consisting of Tweedy, bassist John Stirratt, guitarist Nels Cline, multi-instrumentalist Pat Sansone, keyboard player Mikael Jorgensen, and drummer Glenn Kotche, will mark Cruel Country's release by performing the entire album at the Solid Sound Festival.

(Photo: Charles Harris)

For comments and feedback contact: editorial@rttnews.com

Entertainment News

Follow RTT