Plus   Neg

Kevin McCarthy Elected House Republican Leader


Congressman Kevin McCarthy, R-Calif., will serve as House Minority Leader in the next Congress after a vote by members of the Republican caucus on Wednesday.

McCarthy will take over as the top Republican in the House from retiring House Speaker Paul Ryan, R-Wis., as Democrats retake control of the chamber next year.

In a closed-door meeting, McCarthy reportedly defeated conservative Congressman Jim Jordan, R-Ohio, by a vote of 159 to 43.

Jordan, a co-founder of the hardline House Freedom Caucus, was seen as long-shot challenger to McCarthy, the current House Majority Leader.

Along with electing McCarthy, House Republicans also chose Congressman Steve Scalise, R-La., as minority whip, and Congresswoman Liz Cheney, R-Wyo., as Republican Conference chairwoman.

House Democrats are due to hold their leadership elections later this month, with current House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., expected to reclaim the House Speaker's gavel.

For comments and feedback contact: editorial@rttnews.com

Political News

Follow RTT