Ringo Starr Reaches Number One With 'You're Sixteen' 38 Years Ago

1 / 8
1987 - Public Enemy Debut Album Released
1987 - Public Enemy Debut Album Released

Rap legends Public Enemy released their debut album, "Yo! Bum Rush the Show," on January 26, 1987.

The group, centered on the MCs Chuck D and Flavor Flav, had formed in the early 1980s, releasing a single called "Lies" under the name Spectrum City in 1984.

"Yo! Bum Rush the Show," put out by the Def Jam label, included tracks like "You're Gonna Get Yours" and ""Public Enemy #1." The album did not make a significant mark on the charts, but would later be recognized as an important landmark in hip-hop. Public Enemy would follow up their debut with 1988's "It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back," considered by many to be one of the best albums in rap history.